28 - 30 October, 2019 | Royce Hotel Melbourne, VIC


The Customer Management Practice is proud to announce the Design & Innovation Awards. The awards celebrates and recognizes innovation and human-centered design (HCD) accomplishments across communities and organizations. This year’s awards categories have been selected to reflect the three conference themes of Design Thinking 2019: 

Design Transformation
ROI of Human-Centered Design

Applications are free of charge, and stories will be shared anonymously with our panel of judges. Within this we will select 3 finalists. Our first place winners per category will be recognized on April 17, 2019 at Design Thinking.

Empathy is the first step of design thinking and a core principle of human-centered design. Empathy, for both customers and employees, builds the foundation to user-centric innovation. This category looks to highlight the power of empathy in creation of products, services, cultures, and project outcomes. 

The winning case will display:

1. The highlighting factor of the case study is the use of empathy as the greatest impact to the outcome

2. Multiple methodologies/tools i.e. use of data, ethnography, journey mapping, etc., are used to empathize with the client(s).

3. A direct tie to the voice of the client is demonstrated throughout the entirety of submission


As design thinking and other human-centered design methodologies permeate through the market, we see a larger impact on overall organizational structure, culture, and ways of work. The Design Transformation category pays homage to the larger impact of design thinking and its transformative effect on the people, process, and products of an organization. 

The winning case will display:

1. A clear “transformation” defined and demonstrated through the use of HCD—whether this be cultural, organizational, digital, experiential, etc. 

2. Collaboration or breakdown of silos between departments, teams, and/or management.

3. A level of scale in the application of HCD through a journey or project that impacted the organization at large.


The ROI of Human-Centered Design continues to emerge as an interesting case, challenge, and inquiry to the design community and beyond. With the adoption of HCD on the rise, its perception as being solely fuzzy front end has transformed to a specific, measured, and tangible discipline across organizations.

The winning case will display:

1. A successful application of HCD.

2. The measured impact across an organization/business unit or a specific project, product, or team due to the use of HCD.

3. Defined and quantifiable measurements of success in profits, cost-savings, efficiency, KPIs, and/or other metrics.



End Users vs. Vendors



If you have any questions on the entry process, please contact the organizers by email to info@customermanagementpractice.com